"Take no heed of her...She reads a lot of books."
~Jasper Fforde


Showing posts with label playing dress up. Show all posts
Showing posts with label playing dress up. Show all posts

Friday, November 30, 2012

Dress to Impress

There's going to be a dance on campus this weekend.  More specifically, it's a Great Gatsby themed party.  And I've been wanting to go since the beginning of the semester, but as the date got closer and closer, I've been getting worried that I won't have the right outfit, and that means I have to go buy one, which requires time and money which I don't have...and after a certain point, I wasn't even sure if it was worth going, even though almost all my friends ARE, and it's pretty much all the English department talks about.

Then, I got a text from Boo yesterday.  And he asked me if I was going.  And not only is he going, but he's getting all dressed up, really getting into character, and is super excited.  He even bought a ton of stuff just for the occasion!  I'm still hoping to go, and my more fashion-conscious friends are going to help me find a cute outfit, but I'm seriously freaking out....I want to impress him sooooooo badly!  And since this is one of the few times he'll ever see me in a dress, I need to make this count.

Wish me luck, y'all!  I'll post details soon.

Monday, March 26, 2012

The Film's the Thing

Rachel is in a film directing class, and since I'm fairly good natured (and often too nice to say "no"), I usually get recruited to perform some part in all of her films, from Good-Intentioned-Best-Friend, to Crazed Fangirl, to awkward, terrified, boyish Roommate who is dolled up in makeup to the tune of Popular from Wicked.

Now, in real life, I don't like to wear makeup.  I think ponytails are awesome. I don't wear skirts.  And I cringe at the suggestion of "makeover" from well-meaning friends.  So, of course, this seemed like the perfect idea.  Put Emmy in makeup and a skirt.

It was an easy role; I just had to magnify my horror at having to wear eyeshadow and lipstick.

The first attempt left me looking like the Joker from Dark Knight.  It was all I could do to keep from laughing.  "You wanna know how I got these scars?"

Friday, November 4, 2011

Tudor Literature

I was looking ahead on my syllabus for Tudor Literature, and was thrilled to see that we'll be finishing up the semester with William Shakespeare's Twelfth Night!  That's my favorite of his plays!  Now, this will be the second time I read this play for a college course (the first time was last year), and I've always thought it would be funny to come to class wearing the one identifying piece of clothing of one of the characters (ie. a bowler hat if reading Waiting for Godot; a skull if reading Hamlet, a mask if The Phantom of the Opera, or perhaps carry around a badly burned manuscript if reading Hedda Gabbler).  In Twelfth Night, the big thing is Malvolio's yellow stockings.

Malvolio is a very melancholy character, considered by the others to be a complete stick-in the mud.  So, Sir Toby, Sir Andrew, and Maria all decide it would be really funny to send him letters and let him think they are from Oliva, the girl he likes (who happens to be his employer), and make him do stupid things, like smile all the time (to the point where it is creepy), and to wear yellow, cross-gartered stockings, which Oliva personally thinks is a horrid fashion statement.

I thought it would be fun to just come to class dressed in yellow stockings.  My professor is really cool, and I know she'd find the whole thing to be very funny.  Do you think I should do it?  It's a small class, so I don't have much to worry about.  I'd just get to class early, while the room is still dark, go to the back corner, slip off my pants (because I'm not going to walk around campus in yellow tights) and I'd have shorts or cropped pants and the yellow tights on underneath.  Then, I'd just have to act a bit like Malvolio.  I think it would be really funny.  But, tell me what you think first!  In case you weren't sure, this is sort of what it would look like.


Credit goes to Lydianime, who posted this picture on her DeviantArt page :)


Monday, October 25, 2010

Door Decorations Update

Our Sweeney Todd door is slowly coming along. We've had a few slip-ups along the way, though, including printer failure, lack of a glue stick, the need for creative picture editing, paper deficiency, and me hitting my head on the cinder block wall (I have a nice goose-egg now; tender to the touch, but at least it doesn't hurt as much anymore)...We still need to complete the signs, buy more paper for the windows, and edit the pictures we currently have to make them work. (We had a dress up day as Sweeney Todd and Mrs. Lovett, which was epic!) My favorite picture would have to be either the one where Sweeney (moi) is going to slit Mrs. Lovett's (the Roomie's) throat with his razor (construction paper and painters tape), or the candid shot of an injured Sweeney holding a cold can of Orange Crush to his head, while trying to open a bottle of Tylenol with one hand. I have the cap from the bottle in my mouth, and I'm attempting to pour the pills into my hand. Frustrating at the time, but oh-so-funny now :)