"Take no heed of her...She reads a lot of books."
~Jasper Fforde


Showing posts with label bela lugosi. Show all posts
Showing posts with label bela lugosi. Show all posts

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Halloween 3 (2011)

Yes, yes, I am well aware that this is my third post this morning!  Don't worry; it will be the last!  For today's Halloween post, I wanted to give a list of the classic Universal Horror films.  I love these films very much, but since there are so many of them, it can be hard to keep track of them all.  So, I'll be listing them below :)  I'm only focusing on the werewolf (Laurence Talbot), Frankenstein, and Dracula sagas, so please don't be offended if I fail to mention, say, The Mummy's Hand, and that happens to be your favorite monster movie ever.  Also, I know there are other werewolf movies produced by Universal studios, but they are both stand-alone films, and I'm only focusing on the Larry Talbot (Lon Chaney, Jr.) films, so I won't be mentioning the other ones.  Maybe I'll do a post about those later?

I'll group each series in chronological order.  Anything that is marked with an asterisk (*) spans into at least one of the other sagas.  If you have any questions, please feel free to leave them in the comments!

Frankenstein
-Frankenstein (1931)
-Bride of Frankenstein (1935)
-Son of Frankenstein (1939)
-Ghost of Frankenstein (1942)
-Frankenstein Meets the Wolf Man (1943)*
-House of Frankenstein (1944)*
-House of Dracula (1945)*
-Abbot and Costello Meet Frankenstein (1948)*

Dracula
-Dracula (1931)
      -"Spanish" Dracula (1931)
-Dracula's Daughter (1936)
-Son of Dracula (1943)
-House of Frankenstein (1944)*
-House of Dracula (1945)*
-Abbot and Costello Meet Frankenstein (1948)*

The Wolf Man
-The Wolf Man (1941)
-Frankenstein Meets the Wolf Man (1943)*
-House of Frankenstein (1944)*
-House of Dracula (1945)*
-Abbot and Costello Meet Frankenstein (1948)*

Personally, I'm a huge fan of the Wolf Man movies :)  These are some of my favorite films ever!  But, I hope you totally enjoy all of these movies!  The only thing I'd like to comment on is Abbot and Costello Meet Frankenstein, because while it comes out AFTER House of Dracula, the plot seems to come from earlier in the Wolf Man saga, like possibly between House of Frankenstein and House of Dracula.

One final note: "Spanish" Dracula is basically the same film as the 1931 Dracula, filmed on the same sets by the same studio.  However, there is a completely different cast, and--you guessed it--all the dialogue is in Spanish!  As much as I love the classic, English version, the Spanish production is a must-see, and considered by some to be the better of the two!

Friday, July 23, 2010

My Guilty Pleasure

Today, I decided to spoil myself by purchasing a new movie (well, not exactly...I used a gift card that I had won in a raffle last weekend, so I guess it wasn't spoiling myself, but...) It's actually one of my favorite movies: The Wolfman. This is the old, 1941 movie starring Lon Chaney Jr., rather than the new film that came out a few months back. Personally, I'm not sure if I want to see the remake; I think it would ruin it for me.

But, getting back to the topic of my guilty pleasure...I love horror movies! Well, not all horror movies, but I love the old ones from the 1930s and 40s with Bela Lugosi, Boris Karloff, and Lon Chaney Jr. The classics like Frankenstein, Bride of Frankenstein (both of which I have to see :x), House of Frankenstein, House of Dracula, Dracula, and The Ghost of Frankenstein (all of which I have seen and loved), and even the comedic classics Abbot and Costello Meet Frankenstein and Abbot and Costello Meet Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.

So, right now, I'm just taking a break in the middle of my current movie: The Old Dark House, starring Boris Karloff, which I will review on here in the next few days :)

I'm a bit of a movie freak :P And I love the classic horror films, because they scare you, but they don't gross you out. You'll never see Lon Chaney Jr. in a slasher film, and Boris Karloff movies never get too racy. I like these movies because they are good, clean fun. Just a nice little scare, but that's all.