"Take no heed of her...She reads a lot of books."
~Jasper Fforde


Showing posts with label monsters. Show all posts
Showing posts with label monsters. Show all posts

Sunday, October 2, 2016

31 Days of Halloween #2

 
I love Japanese culture, food, art, and language.  I hope to visit Japan someday, and have been (slowly) learning how to speak, write, and read Japanese.  Of course, for every wonderful thing about Japan, there are some totally creepy things, including today's posting for 31 Days of Halloween.  While it's not some crazy yandere looking for her sempai, these crazy creatures from Japanese mythology are nothing to mess with, and will almost certainly kill you if you crossed their paths.

Sunday, October 18, 2015

31 Days of Halloween #18

Halloween is fast approaching, my friends, and I am getting more and more excited!  Soon, it will be time for costumes, creatures, and tons and tons of candy!  (The candy is always my favorite part).
But, what do you do while you're snarfing down all that sugary goodness?  How about watch a movie?

Day 18: Horror Films
I have a few links for you today.  The first is a collection of horror films you can watch right on YouTube!  Don't want to buy the film, or feel like going to the library?  Don't have Netflix?  Well, just load up your ad-blocker and check out some of these classics online.  I'll be completely honest and say that I've not heard of most of these titles, so you might be in for what I like to call something of a schlockfest, but all the same, you mind find that hidden gem you can tell all your friends about.
If you're looking for something a bit more scary, then head over to Cracked.com for a list of scary classics.  These aren't your garden variety titles, like Dracula and Frankenstein, but these chillers are certain to leave you all freaked out.
If you're still looking for more, then perhaps this is for you.  WatchMojo created a series of videos detailing the best horror films from each decade.  The list goes all the way through the '80s, but my favorites were all in the first collection (I'm such a traditionalist!) so here are some of the best horror films from the 1920s through the 1950s!
Still looking for more?  WatchMojo also did a video about the best movie monsters.  You can check that one out here:
 Stay tuned for more holiday goodness!  And stay scary, my friends :)

Wednesday, October 14, 2015

31 Days of Halloween #14

So, I know I had intended to do 5 straight days of Five Nights at Freddy's, but once again, I am running low on material.  So, that being said, I will try to pop in the last few days of FNAF in a few days.  So, stay tuned for those later.  For now, however, I would like to return to our regularly scheduled Halloween posts.

I've featured JonTron in Ramblings posts in the past, but today, I would like to do another bit about him.  As a gamer, I love finding other people who also share an open and honest love of video games (not these pretenders who say they're into games for the attention, or those who are majorly pretentious jerks about it.  JonTron is one of the good ones.

I love watching videos that talk about classic games and hidden gems.  I know that I won't be able to play half of the games I watch videos about, but that's okay.  I'd probably suck at them anyway, and I have enough fun watching someone else play for me.  Monster Party is one that I would be willing to give a try.


Day 14: Monster Party

So, I'm not sure exactly what to say about this video.  My general rule of thumb with JonTron is to just sit back and enjoy the ride.  He's kind of all over the place at times, and he comes across as a big goof, but this guy really knows his stuff.  Even if you're not familiar with the game or the console, you can still have a lot of fun watching his stuff.  Jon is one of a kind!




If you like what you see, please let me know in the comments.  I have a couple more JonTron episodes that I would love to share if people were interested :)

And if video games aren't you cup of tea, never fear!  There was a Rankin-Bass movie that came out years ago with a similar title: Mad Monster Party?.  It's a kids' movie where Dr. Frankenstein announces his plans to retire, and gathers together some familiar faces so that he can appoint his successor.  I'm including the trailer for the film below.

 

Saturday, October 3, 2015

31 Days of Halloween #3

I have always loved comedy, and I always thought it would be fun to be an actor.  I think with a little time and effort, I could be halfway decent, but there is one thing I will never master--improv.  There is something very intimidating about going into something without any prior practice.  I like to have all my ducks lined up in a neat little row.  Not having that throws my whole world into chaos.

Now, at the library where I work, I've given impromptu classes (like, I prep beforehand, but I don't have a specific speech planned out).  But, all the same, I don't think I could get up on a stage and be funny without some proper preparation.

 

Day 3: Franken-Improv
 
For today's posting, I wanted to do something a bit funny.  So, I've included here two Frankenstein-themed improv skits.  The first is from Who's Line is it Anyway? and the second is from Rhett and Link's show Good Mythical Morning.

To start with, here's a bit with my favorites, Colin and Ryan.  Ryan is Dr. Frankenstein, and Colin is a very light-footed Igor.


A note about this second video.  Rhett and Link have a YouTube show called Good Mythical Morning, and they end each day's episode with a little skit using a prompt that they are given right beforehand.  This video is part of a series that took the dialogue and animated it.  I hope you enjoy :)


Friday, October 2, 2015

31 Days of Halloween #2

What's your favorite Halloween song?  There are a lot of great titles out here, including "Werewolves of London" and "Thriller," but my favorite is "The Monster Mash".  I always get such a kick out of that song.  As a kid, it made monsters seem a lot more fun.

So, of course, today's "trick or treat" is going to be a dedication to one of my favorite tunes:)



Day 2: The Monster Mash

The first video below features the song of course, with pictures from various horror films, including Frankenstein, and The Invisible Ray.  What I liked best, though, was that it started off with pictures and promotional posters of Bobby "Boris" Pickett, the lead singer.
 
Now, in case you weren't aware, there is a reason why the Monster Mash consists only of classic monsters.  What would it be like with today's freaks: Jason Voorhees, Jigsaw, or Freddy Krueger?  Well, Key of Awesome thought about that, too, and they have a more updated version of the Monster Mash for you here!  While it's still funny, it's certainly more adult, so I guess this is just a warning if you're looking for the same wholesome fun of the original.


And if you enjoyed that, here's the behind the scenes video!


Enjoy :)

Friday, January 10, 2014

January Book Update: Beasties and Bogeys (Non-Fiction)

It's not even halfway through January, and I'm already plowing through my reading.  Not all of it has been recorded under my reading challenge on Goodreads (or on the widget), but that's just because not all of the entries were BOOKS (I read a few short stories on the Kindle App on my computer), and I only wanted to include books on my reading challenge goal record.

I think if I had to pick an over-arching topic for the materials I read this far into the new year, I would go with Beasties and Bogeys because most of the materials I delved into involved monsters of some variety or another.  And if you wouldn't actually consider a lion, tiger, or spider to be a monster, then at the very least, you could say that they can be considered beasties.

I'm going to divide this up into two parts.  The first (this post) is going to focus on the non-fiction books: Deadly Kingdom: The Book of Dangerous Animals (Gordon Grice) and The Science of Monsters: The Origins of the Creatures We Love to Fear (Matt Kaplan).  All of the fiction I've read so far has all been part of one series: Johannes Cabal (Jonathan L. Howard), and that being the case, I think they deserve their own post.

I have always been fascinated by monsters.  As a kid, I loved the thrills I got from reading scary stories or watching Scooby-Doo.  I liked to be scared.  In junior high, my class and I were introduced to the thrilling world of Greek mythology, and my passion for monster stories skyrocketed.  Years later, I'm no longer that kid sneaking books out to recess so I don't have to socialize, devouring shelves and shelves of books from the public library.  Now, I'm a well-adjusted library employee who brings books on break to avoid socializing, and who devours shelves and shelves of books from my place of employment.  And that's how I found The Science of Monsters


It just sounded like the coolest book.  I mean, it's all about the concept of monsters, and how they come into our mythologies and popular culture.  In a little over 200 pages, Matt Kaplan tries to explain everything from Medusa to the Minotaur to Dragons to Terminator and HAL 9000.  It was a pretty cool concept for a book.  But, I wasn't completely thrilled.

In theory, I should have been ecstatic.  In theory this book was perfect for someone with my interests.  But, at the same time, I found Kaplan's theories a bit dry and forced.  Sure, I can believe that Medusa has snakes for hair because the ancients were afraid of snakes.  If you wanted to freak me out with a scary story, make the villain a giant spider.  (I about pissed myself during the second Hobbit movie).  But, at the same time, I found some of his theories a bit hard to swallow.  For example, the Chimera.

This creepy critter has the head of a lion, the body of a goat, and the tail of a snake.  Oh, and it also breathes fire.
Chimera: Lions and goats and snakes, oh my!
I did a project on this back in high school.  Now, I'm by no means saying that I'm an expert.  Not at all.  But, I think that there is more to a myth than just the literal.  Kaplan suggests that ancient people found a "chimera" skeleton after a goat got caught in a tar pit.  The goat was attacked by a lion, which also got trapped in the tar.  A large snake also got tangled up in all of this, and by the time they sunk, died, and fossilized, the end result was a skeleton that looked like a lion/goat/snake hybrid (Kaplan also says the Griffin might have been "created" in a similar way).  The way I see it, though, the monster could represent more abstract concepts, such as violence, deception, and lust.  But, my frustration was not because I disagreed with his theories.  I just found them to be overly-complicated and forced.

Moving on from the supernatural, I turned to the all-too-natural.  This brought me to Deadly Kingdom by Gordon Grice.  Now, instead of learning about the origins of all the monsters I would read about as a child, I got to learn about all the terrible things in the world, that, if given half a chance, would kill, maim, or eat me.

I don't think about death very often, but when I'm reading a book that details story after story about people being killed by [INSERT ANIMAL HERE], I can't help but think of how I don't want to go camping, or swimming, or even visiting the zoo (who knows if a chimpanzee might escape?)  But, the worst part was the section about spiders, which I decided to read right before bed.  Know what's a great feeling?  Reading that most encounters with venomous spiders occur between the sheets WHILE I'M IN BED is nothing more than a moment of abject horror.  I slept that night convinced I could feel creepy crawlies all over my skin.


It was almost a little depressing by the end.  As a kid, who read every Calvin and Hobbes comic book I could get my hands on, I thought it would be the greatest thing ever to have a pet tiger.  It would be my best friend, and walk with me to school, and I would read books to it, and no one would pick on me, because they would be scared of my tiger friend.

Realistically, though, I should also have been scared of the tiger, because it probably wouldn't have let me live long enough to walk me to school, or read it a book.  Instead of a best friend, I would have turned out to be a convenient snack with glasses.

I enjoyed this book a lot less than the first one.  I think this was mostly because the book consisted of pages and pages of the most horrible stories.  For example, in 2003, a grizzly bear ate a camper.  This also happened in 1987, and the first recorded instance of this happened back in 1694.  And then, Grice goes on to tell all the gruesome details of what is eaten off, or what turns black and falls off after a snake/spider/scorpion encounter.

So, while the first book was a bit dry, the second was just horrifying.  I would have crawled under my bed, but I'm sure that there are spiders under there, so that would not have been a good idea.
They're coming to get you, Barbara
So far, my non-fiction reading hasn't been exactly stellar.  It's been fine, but I'm not exactly jumping-up-and-down excited about it.  But, luckily, my fiction selections have been a bit more exciting.  That post should be coming very soon.

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Halloween 3 (2011)

Yes, yes, I am well aware that this is my third post this morning!  Don't worry; it will be the last!  For today's Halloween post, I wanted to give a list of the classic Universal Horror films.  I love these films very much, but since there are so many of them, it can be hard to keep track of them all.  So, I'll be listing them below :)  I'm only focusing on the werewolf (Laurence Talbot), Frankenstein, and Dracula sagas, so please don't be offended if I fail to mention, say, The Mummy's Hand, and that happens to be your favorite monster movie ever.  Also, I know there are other werewolf movies produced by Universal studios, but they are both stand-alone films, and I'm only focusing on the Larry Talbot (Lon Chaney, Jr.) films, so I won't be mentioning the other ones.  Maybe I'll do a post about those later?

I'll group each series in chronological order.  Anything that is marked with an asterisk (*) spans into at least one of the other sagas.  If you have any questions, please feel free to leave them in the comments!

Frankenstein
-Frankenstein (1931)
-Bride of Frankenstein (1935)
-Son of Frankenstein (1939)
-Ghost of Frankenstein (1942)
-Frankenstein Meets the Wolf Man (1943)*
-House of Frankenstein (1944)*
-House of Dracula (1945)*
-Abbot and Costello Meet Frankenstein (1948)*

Dracula
-Dracula (1931)
      -"Spanish" Dracula (1931)
-Dracula's Daughter (1936)
-Son of Dracula (1943)
-House of Frankenstein (1944)*
-House of Dracula (1945)*
-Abbot and Costello Meet Frankenstein (1948)*

The Wolf Man
-The Wolf Man (1941)
-Frankenstein Meets the Wolf Man (1943)*
-House of Frankenstein (1944)*
-House of Dracula (1945)*
-Abbot and Costello Meet Frankenstein (1948)*

Personally, I'm a huge fan of the Wolf Man movies :)  These are some of my favorite films ever!  But, I hope you totally enjoy all of these movies!  The only thing I'd like to comment on is Abbot and Costello Meet Frankenstein, because while it comes out AFTER House of Dracula, the plot seems to come from earlier in the Wolf Man saga, like possibly between House of Frankenstein and House of Dracula.

One final note: "Spanish" Dracula is basically the same film as the 1931 Dracula, filmed on the same sets by the same studio.  However, there is a completely different cast, and--you guessed it--all the dialogue is in Spanish!  As much as I love the classic, English version, the Spanish production is a must-see, and considered by some to be the better of the two!