"Take no heed of her...She reads a lot of books."
~Jasper Fforde


Showing posts with label movies. Show all posts
Showing posts with label movies. Show all posts

Sunday, June 30, 2019

Wise Blood Update #1

In my last blog post, I wrote that I was hoping to talk about the books that I'm reading.  In my original blog posts, waaaay back when I started writing in college, I would talk about the books I was reading, both on their own, and in the context of my own life.  I'd like to get back into doing that.

To start with, I thought I'd look at the book I'm currently reading (actually, listening to on audio!), Wise Blood by Flannery O'Connor.

Before I say too much, I want to preface this post by saying that I have NOT finished the book yet.  I've read most of it, but not all of it.  So, please refrain from spoilers in your comments (if you so choose to comment).


To ease us back into things, and since this book is so darn weird, I thought it might be best to just show y'all the trailer for the 1979 movie, and see what you think.  (As far as I can tell, it's pretty accurate).  I'm trying to figure out a lot of it, myself.  I've been told that Flannery O'Connor writes comedy.  Meaning, that this is supposed to be a funny book.  From my reading, I can see that it's dark and strange, and there's a ton going on.  Sure, I get a few chuckles now and the, but this is no belly-laughing Wodehouse tome.

Still, watch the trailer and let me know what you think.  I'll be posting more from our good friend Ms. Flannery real soon.

Friday, October 7, 2016

31 Days of Halloween #7




Today, I would like to share one of my all-time favorite movies.  While not a horror film, per se, this creepy, atmospheric, and surprisingly funny film is one that should be watched at least once, and then again and again.  About a day or so after borrowing it from my local library, I went to the store and bought myself a copy.  I have absolutely no regrets.

Delicatessen is a fascinating tale of a post-apocalyptic world.  We are introduced to the residents of an apartment building, owned and run by a butcher known as Clapet.  When a drifter, and former circus performer, Louison turns up on Clapet's doorstep, he's given a room and a job as a handyman around the building.  What he doesn't realize, though, is that Clapet and the rest of the tenants have a craving for meat in a world where food is scarce.  And when circumstance presents drifters, loners, and the like to the apartment, Clapet prepares all of his guests a sumptuous feast of the poor, cannibalized individual.  There is a hitch in Clapet's plans, however, when his nearsighted daughter falls in love with Louison, and tries to warn him of the danger that is waiting for him if he stays any longer. 


This hilarious, suspenseful, and artistic film includes two of my favorite French actors, and my favorite French director, Jean-Pierre Jeunet.  As for the actors, they played the roles of Clapet and Louison, respectively: Jean-Claude Dreyfus, and Dominique Pinon, sometimes known as the man with the rubber face, due to his eccentric and expressive features.

If you watch this film, let me know in the comments what you thought.  Either way, I'd love to hear your opinions!

Sunday, October 18, 2015

31 Days of Halloween #18

Halloween is fast approaching, my friends, and I am getting more and more excited!  Soon, it will be time for costumes, creatures, and tons and tons of candy!  (The candy is always my favorite part).
But, what do you do while you're snarfing down all that sugary goodness?  How about watch a movie?

Day 18: Horror Films
I have a few links for you today.  The first is a collection of horror films you can watch right on YouTube!  Don't want to buy the film, or feel like going to the library?  Don't have Netflix?  Well, just load up your ad-blocker and check out some of these classics online.  I'll be completely honest and say that I've not heard of most of these titles, so you might be in for what I like to call something of a schlockfest, but all the same, you mind find that hidden gem you can tell all your friends about.
If you're looking for something a bit more scary, then head over to Cracked.com for a list of scary classics.  These aren't your garden variety titles, like Dracula and Frankenstein, but these chillers are certain to leave you all freaked out.
If you're still looking for more, then perhaps this is for you.  WatchMojo created a series of videos detailing the best horror films from each decade.  The list goes all the way through the '80s, but my favorites were all in the first collection (I'm such a traditionalist!) so here are some of the best horror films from the 1920s through the 1950s!
Still looking for more?  WatchMojo also did a video about the best movie monsters.  You can check that one out here:
 Stay tuned for more holiday goodness!  And stay scary, my friends :)

Wednesday, October 14, 2015

31 Days of Halloween #14

So, I know I had intended to do 5 straight days of Five Nights at Freddy's, but once again, I am running low on material.  So, that being said, I will try to pop in the last few days of FNAF in a few days.  So, stay tuned for those later.  For now, however, I would like to return to our regularly scheduled Halloween posts.

I've featured JonTron in Ramblings posts in the past, but today, I would like to do another bit about him.  As a gamer, I love finding other people who also share an open and honest love of video games (not these pretenders who say they're into games for the attention, or those who are majorly pretentious jerks about it.  JonTron is one of the good ones.

I love watching videos that talk about classic games and hidden gems.  I know that I won't be able to play half of the games I watch videos about, but that's okay.  I'd probably suck at them anyway, and I have enough fun watching someone else play for me.  Monster Party is one that I would be willing to give a try.


Day 14: Monster Party

So, I'm not sure exactly what to say about this video.  My general rule of thumb with JonTron is to just sit back and enjoy the ride.  He's kind of all over the place at times, and he comes across as a big goof, but this guy really knows his stuff.  Even if you're not familiar with the game or the console, you can still have a lot of fun watching his stuff.  Jon is one of a kind!




If you like what you see, please let me know in the comments.  I have a couple more JonTron episodes that I would love to share if people were interested :)

And if video games aren't you cup of tea, never fear!  There was a Rankin-Bass movie that came out years ago with a similar title: Mad Monster Party?.  It's a kids' movie where Dr. Frankenstein announces his plans to retire, and gathers together some familiar faces so that he can appoint his successor.  I'm including the trailer for the film below.

 

Tuesday, September 15, 2015

He Might Be a Keeper If...

As cliched as it sounds, in looking for a suitable dating partner, I want to find someone who "gets" me.  And the more I embrace myself as a person, the more I realize that a lot of people out there are just not going to be able to fill that void.  There are people out there who could date just about anyone, but I find that I need a special someone who gets me on all those weird and quirky levels that makes up me.

Like tonight.  Just hanging out, watching clips from the Alan Arkin/Christopher Lee film The Return of Captain Invincible on YouTube.  I just requested it at the library, and I'm super-excited :)

Possible conversation?

Boyfriend: Hey :)
Emmy: Hey :)
BF: What you doing?
Em: Sitting around in my pajamas, watching clips from The Return of Captain Invincible.  You?
BF: That sounds awesome...can I join you?

That's all I want. Someone who appreciates my love of obscure movies.

(By the way, I'm including one of the clips here for your viewing pleasure)




I'll let you know what I think of the movie as a whole once I finally get to watch it ;)

Thursday, June 12, 2014

Arsène Lupin, Gentleman Thief (Maurice LeBlanc)

Those who know me well enough know that I'm a huge fan of the anime Lupin III by Monkey Punch (as well as the manga that inspired it, although it's really not as good).  And one day, while I was on a total Lupin III kick, I happened to stumble upon an interesting little fact on the Internet: Lupin III (or "Rupan sansei" as he's known in Japan) is based off a French book series by Maurice LeBlanc about a gentleman thief-turned-detective named Arsène Lupin.  (He's called Rupan in Japan in order to skirt around a copyright issue that originally prevented them from using the name Lupin.  Not that it mattered to them, since there is no "L" sound in Japanese, and they were already pronouncing it with an "R" sound anyway).  Already a fan of the famous anime criminal, I thought it might be fun to go back and read the book that inspired it all.  And that's how I ended up reading Arsène Lupin: Gentleman Thief this summer.  It also helped, of course, that the book fit into my theme of summer mysteries.  

This was a great book!  I honestly wasn't sure what to expect.  After all, I had fallen for Lupin the THIRD, the young, brash, and completely charming GRANDSON.  And sure, he was based off of the LeBlanc character, but that didn't mean that they were going to be the same.  And I'll be honest; they weren't the same.  But, despite this, they were both VERY good.  I really loved this original incarnation of Lupin.  He was funny, clever, charming, and had a sort of confident, mature bearing to him that Lupin III lacks.  While his "grandson" is cocky, over-confident, and pretty lusty, the original Lupin is much more of a romantic.  He does things not so much for the money or the sex, but because it's a charming or romanticized adventure.  It's like Robin Hood: robbing the rich and saving fair maidens.  Whether or not the whole thing is actually like this is up for debate, but this is certainly how Lupin sees it.

More than anything, these stories actually reminded me a lot of the Lupin seen in the Hayao Miyazaki Lupin III film The Castle of Cagliostro which quickly became one of my all-time favorite films as soon as I had seen it.  In this movie, Lupin III seems more mature.  He's not interested in all the ladies and the money; in fact, I don't think he makes any sex jokes at all (as contrasted to his other movies, which has him ogling breasts, chasing pretty girls, or attempting to seduce his on-again/off-again girlfriend Fujiko Mine).  His focus is on righting wrongs and saving a damsel in distress.  And in this book, that's what Lupin focuses on, too.  Sure, he plays some tricks and steals some things.  He even goes up against the greatest detective in literature: Sherlock Holmes.  But, he's not all about childish excitement.  He's more purposeful.  And it made for some great, fun stories with lots of drama and mystery.  I think my favorite was actually the final story: "The Sign of Mercury," which was almost completely over-the-top at times, but it was just so much fun that I didn't even care!

If you read any of the books I suggest this summer, this is one you just have to check out!  And I highly recommend that while you're at it, you give the anime a shot, too.  (A side note, some of the movies are rather bland, and might give you a bad introduction to the series.  Start with Castle of Cagliostro or Lupin III Series 2.)  But, read this book first.  Seriously.  Go read it.

Tuesday, September 17, 2013

Anna Karenina (2013)

So, I finally got around to watching the most recent film incarnation of Anna Karenina, the 2013 version starring Keira Knightley, Matthew Macfadeyn, and Jude Law.  And I must say, with a cast like that, and a screenplay written by Tom Stoppard, I'm more confused why I didn't see it sooner (like, in theaters).

I was supposed to have read the book back in high school, for my AP World Literature class.  And I sort of read it.  It was a summer reading assignment, and as I'm sure most of you are aware, when it comes to summer reading, I read a lot of different things, but rarely what I'm supposed to read.  So, I got through about a fourth of it, went to class, and bull-shitted my way through weeks of discussion and a silly video where I had to play Anna's immature, lying, cheating, but terribly amusing brother Stiva.

I had also watched older versions of the film, but found them, like the book, to be trivial and trite.  I guess my issue was not so much with the presentation of the story, but with the story itself.  I found Anna to be drippy, self-absorbed, and irritating.

Perhaps, at this point, I should give you a bit of the plot?  Anna Karenina is, at it's heart, essentially the story of a virtuous married woman who falls in love with an officer, and finds herself in a landslide to social suicide, ruining the lives and relationships of those around her.  I know it's over-simplifying things, but think soap opera in book form.

[MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS]

So, I guess onward to the review, eh?

I think what I liked most about this movie was the setup.  For the most part, with a few exceptions, the entire movie takes place in a theater, on the stage, in the audience, the wings, even the catwalks above the stage.  It was very cool.  And it gave the whole performance the feeling of a tightly knit drama.  It felt close, and intimate.  And perhaps that's what director Joe Wright, and writer Tom Stoppard were going for.  After all, this is certainly a drama.  And a tragedy at that.  And putting it on a stage, in a theater, makes a spectacle of things.  Anna's affair is there for everyone to see.  And society is watching and judging.

Reconnecting with the story five years after I first experienced it (and last experienced it, as well), I have to say that not much of my personal feelings toward the characters have changed.  I still think Stiva is hilarious.  I feel perhaps, a bit more kindly towards Levin and Dolly, and I don't see Kitty as quite such a silly, ridiculous little girl.  In these three characters, I see the smashed dreams of a damaged romance.  Love has not been kind.  And I see, too, a bit more to Levin than I did five years ago.  Perhaps it was this interpretation of him, but I don't think he's quite so foolish as he came across before.  Now, I see him as someone who is shy, and nervous, and introverted like myself, and who is looking for love and a simple life.  I think I finally "get" him.

And on that note, I think I'm starting to come around to Karenin a bit more.  Before, I saw him as boring, and snobbish.  He seemed demanding and cold, but now, I see that he is perhaps, a bit serious, but at the same time, he's kind and concerned, even though he's a bit less emotional.

And it really amazes me just how different a story can be depending when in your life you first experienced it.  And I never understand people who say that they'll only read a book once.  Every time you read it, you're coming to it from a different perspective.  And if it is truly an enduring work of art, every time you read it, you'll see something new of it.  And I'm more encouraged than ever to reread Anna Karenina, if only to help me see it from a different perspective than I did when I was younger.  I mean, I was 17, had gone to Catholic school all my life, and didn't date.  I didn't really even have any male friends.  And I could not understand the motivations of most of the characters.

The one thing I disliked the most about the film was the tendency to get a bit too up-close and personal for certain scenes.  I'm not at all against a bit of romance, but all the same, I don't want to see a close-up of tongues lolling around between mouths and that sort of thing.  Of course, I know that's how people kiss, but that doesn't mean I want to see it.  After reading Gulp by Mary Roach, I know how digestion works, and I understand that it is perfectly commonplace.  But, that doesn't mean I want to watch you chew.

I had a whole list of notes jotted down on the back of a library receipt, but looking at them now, I feel like they were either just silly jottings, or they went a bit too much into detail.  Comments like those would be better suited for a discussion, not a blog post, so I'm going to hold back on those.  But, if you would like to have a discussion on the film, you know how to reach me.

Wednesday, June 5, 2013

2-Headed Shark Attack

So, the other day, my brother and I saw a movie that was literally about a giant two-headed shark attacking a bunch of co-eds during a semester at sea.  It was pretty much one of the crummiest movies I've ever seen.  I don't even know how someone would come up with a storyline like this.  Like, giant shark is not good enough....so let's give the damn thing two heads, yes?


Tuesday, March 27, 2012

The Departed (2006)

Just finished watching The Departed with Italia, and oh. my. god.  That was a crazy movie!  It was so fast-paced and so confusing, but seriously impossible to stop watching.  I LOVED it, but I almost feel like I need to watch it again, just to catch everything.  I'll try and see if I can post a review on here (or Cinema Sweetheart) tomorrow, 'cause tonight, I'm just too tired to write any more.

Monday, January 23, 2012

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Halloween 3 (2011)

Yes, yes, I am well aware that this is my third post this morning!  Don't worry; it will be the last!  For today's Halloween post, I wanted to give a list of the classic Universal Horror films.  I love these films very much, but since there are so many of them, it can be hard to keep track of them all.  So, I'll be listing them below :)  I'm only focusing on the werewolf (Laurence Talbot), Frankenstein, and Dracula sagas, so please don't be offended if I fail to mention, say, The Mummy's Hand, and that happens to be your favorite monster movie ever.  Also, I know there are other werewolf movies produced by Universal studios, but they are both stand-alone films, and I'm only focusing on the Larry Talbot (Lon Chaney, Jr.) films, so I won't be mentioning the other ones.  Maybe I'll do a post about those later?

I'll group each series in chronological order.  Anything that is marked with an asterisk (*) spans into at least one of the other sagas.  If you have any questions, please feel free to leave them in the comments!

Frankenstein
-Frankenstein (1931)
-Bride of Frankenstein (1935)
-Son of Frankenstein (1939)
-Ghost of Frankenstein (1942)
-Frankenstein Meets the Wolf Man (1943)*
-House of Frankenstein (1944)*
-House of Dracula (1945)*
-Abbot and Costello Meet Frankenstein (1948)*

Dracula
-Dracula (1931)
      -"Spanish" Dracula (1931)
-Dracula's Daughter (1936)
-Son of Dracula (1943)
-House of Frankenstein (1944)*
-House of Dracula (1945)*
-Abbot and Costello Meet Frankenstein (1948)*

The Wolf Man
-The Wolf Man (1941)
-Frankenstein Meets the Wolf Man (1943)*
-House of Frankenstein (1944)*
-House of Dracula (1945)*
-Abbot and Costello Meet Frankenstein (1948)*

Personally, I'm a huge fan of the Wolf Man movies :)  These are some of my favorite films ever!  But, I hope you totally enjoy all of these movies!  The only thing I'd like to comment on is Abbot and Costello Meet Frankenstein, because while it comes out AFTER House of Dracula, the plot seems to come from earlier in the Wolf Man saga, like possibly between House of Frankenstein and House of Dracula.

One final note: "Spanish" Dracula is basically the same film as the 1931 Dracula, filmed on the same sets by the same studio.  However, there is a completely different cast, and--you guessed it--all the dialogue is in Spanish!  As much as I love the classic, English version, the Spanish production is a must-see, and considered by some to be the better of the two!

Friday, September 23, 2011

What is Fun?

Fun is staying up late with a really good friend, eating good food, and watching When Harry Met Sally, which people have been trying to get me to watch for months now.  And after the food is gone and the movie is over, it's even more fun when you realize just how slap happy you are, and start playing around on Tumblr, where you find a picture that says YOU ARE A SUPERHERO!  THE OBJECT TO YOUR LEFT IS THE SOURCE OF YOUR POWER; THE OBJECT TO YOUR RIGHT IS YOUR WEAKNESS.  In this case (since Rachel was holding the computer), the source of her power was moi, and her weakness would be the notes from her class for today....she has a test in it and was studying before I came over.  The question that arises: does this mean that she'll fail the test since it's her weakness?  And if I come to the test with her (and I'm the source of her power), does that mean she'll get like a 105% on the test?

Happy Friday, everyone!

Thursday, April 14, 2011

Jane Eyre: The Movie

Soooo.... A group of us went out to see Jane Eyre in theatres...and it.was.AMAZING! I've always thought the book was very good, and the film had a lot to live up to, but it did not disappoint! I'm not going to go into too many details right now, since I've really tired and still have a lot of homework...but, there will be a review on Cinema Sweetheart's Film Reviews within the next few days, so keep an eye out for that ;)

One thing I will say.....I know most girls gush about how they want to marry Mr. Darcy from Pride and Prejudice, and I've even gone on about Brandon from Sense and Sensibility, but I have to say that Edward Rochester is by far my favorite fictional crush. I'd forgotten about him for a while (I'm sorry, Edward), but watching the movie reminded me how much I love this guy! And it's purely for the personality, because according to the book and musical (yes, there is a Jane Eyre musical, and it's wonderful!) Edward is not handsome. I hesitate to say ugly, but he's no great looker :P However, this Rochester is gorgeous! I mean, check this out:

But, go check out this film! So good!!!!

Saturday, March 19, 2011

The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen

I have just finished watching one of the best movies I've seen in a long time! Movie Boy actually made the recommendation to me, telling me that I would probably like it because of the literary references, however, he cautioned me to not get my hopes up too much, since he was afraid that it was cooler in theory than in action. Well, I'm happy to report that it was just as epic in actuality as it was in theory! I was so pumped the entire time I watched this movie! Normally, I'm not a fan of action films, but this was the perfect mix of action and literary references!

For those of you who are not familiar with the story, The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen is a tale of epic proportions. When Europe is on the brink of a potential world war, a mysterious figure named "M" gathers together the ultimate team to save the world from destroying itself:



Allan Quartermain (Sean Connery)


Captain Nemo (Naseeruddin Shah)

Mina Harker (Peta Wilson)

Rodney Skinner, the Invisible Man (Tony Curran)



Dorian Gray (Stuart Townsend)




Tom Sawyer (Shane West)


Dr. Henry Jekyll (Jason Flemyng)

This is a movie that you just have to see to believe! It was AMAZING! And actually, this has prompted a summer reading challenge for myself. I'm going to make it a point to read all of the books that inspired these characters:

  • Allan Quartermain: King Soloman's Mines (H. Rider Haggard)
  • Captain Nemo: Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea (Jules Verne)
  • Mina Harker: Dracula (Bram Stoker)
  • Rodney Skinner: The Invisible Man (H.G. Wells)
  • Dorian Gray: The Picture of Dorian Gray (Oscar Wilde)
  • Tom Sawyer: The Adventures of Tom Sawyer (Mark Twain)
  • Dr. Henry Jekyll: The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (Robert Lewis Stevenson)

This summer, I hope to be able to give you all exciting reviews of these books :) I'll be a bit brief when it comes to Jekyll's book, however, since I just reviewed it last summer. (I'm sure many of you remember my crazy "Jekyll and Hyde phase". Still, look forward to seeing reviews about all of these! It's going to be great :)

On a side note, I would like to make one small complaint about the film. I felt the tiniest bit annoyed that the writers took obvious creative liberties with several of the characters. The most notable for me, (with what I have read), would be Mina's vampirism (a fate which she is spared in Dracula), Dorian (no more information to be given...don't want to include spoilers here), and the appearance of Edward Hyde. Strange as it may seem, Hyde is actually supposed to be smaller than Jekyll, not the hulking brute that he is in the film. This is not to say that I'm complaining....I agree that the changes work well for the film, however, the stubborn English major within me protests that this is not how it was supposed to be.

Tuesday, September 21, 2010

The New Blog

Hey, guys! Here's the link to my movie review blog...

http://www.cinemasweetheart.blogspot.com/
You don't have to subscribe if you don't want to...this is mostly just for people who are really interested in learning about new movies. Currently, I just have an introduction post, but I'm going to have movie reviews up very soon, so check in ;)

Don't worry...Ramblings isn't going anywhere...Cinema Sweetheart is just a side project that I wanted to work on since I joined my school's film club.

Have a good night, everyone!

Monday, September 20, 2010

Movie Blog

Thanks to a display of interest from several of you, I've decided to do the movie blog. I just have a few questions for you guys...First, do you have any ideas for blog titles? And also, do you have any ideas for profile names? I was hoping for something catchy, like a cooler version of "Movie Girl" or "Film Fan". Any ideas?

Friday, September 17, 2010

A Girl's Night Out

The wonderful Roomie and I have been stuck in classes all week, and finally decided that we needed a break. So, when the school offered a trip out into the world beyond the campus for dinner and a late-night showing of Easy A, how could we resist?

The dinner was at a local restaurant/bar, which was either full of smoke (with the doors closed) or had the doors open and was freezing cold. The chicken fried rice was amazing, and I almost learned how to use chopsticks--ALMOST.

Easy A was really funny. Starring Emma Stone, its a hilarious chick flick loosely based on Hawthorne's Scarlet Letter. Olive Pendergrast, wallflower, finds herself suddenly in the center of attention at her high school when a rumor gets out that she slept with a college student. Soon, gay guy Brandon asks her to pretend to have sex with him so that people will stop picking on him because of his sexuality. And the rumor starts to grow out of control, as Olive pretends to sleep with guys for gift cards, and begins to wear a red letter "A" on all of her tops in her slutty new wardrobe. But, when she realizes that her life is falling apart, is it already too late to change things? Watch the movie and find out :P

I had a wonderful time tonight, but the strangest thing was this: when I left the movie, there were two guys in my head. One you might have heard about, I won't say for certain...the other one...well, I KNOW I've never mentioned him before. It's going to be interesting I guess. Well...I'm tired; g'night!

Wednesday, August 25, 2010

A Little Bit of 300 Spoofing

I've never actually seen the movie 300, but I've seen my fair share of its spoofs and parodies. Currently, the Brother and I are watching Meet the Spartans, a full-length movie spoof, and that inspired this post. These are some of my favorite 300 parodies...hope you enjoy ;)








Wednesday, August 4, 2010

Airplane

Here's another movie review with a big "thank you" to OldFool for suggesting it! Airplane is a hilarious movie that spoofs all other airport movies. When ex-military pilot Ted Striker is dumped by his long-time girlfriend, stewardess Elaine Dickenson, he follows her onto the plane so that he can work out their relationship issues. By a freak chance of fate, the pilots fall sick from food poisoning, and Ted is the only one onboard who can fly the plane to safety. Unfortunately, he hasn't flow since a certain incident that occured during the war, and doesn't have the confidence to fly again.

Full of drama, suspense, romance, and of course, lots of laughs, this is a hilarious movie that I highly recommend. Starring Robert Hays, Julie Hagerty, and Leslie Neilson. Thanks again to OldFool!