I love to sit outside and read. It's one of the highlights of my day (not including crawling between the covers to read right before bed). But, the days have been getting shorter and colder, so by the time I get home from work and eat dinner, there's not much time to sit outside before it gets too dark to see. And it's so cold, I can feel my toes freezing in my flipflops. But, even though I was shivering in my polar-fleece sweatshirt, I stuck it out for a good forty-five minutes.
Sitting inside now, but my feet are still cold. Even though I love Fall, I'm starting to wish that it was summer again.
It's just one of those nasty, rainy afternoons, when everyone is in a piss-poor mood, and no one is around. I was hanging out with some of the guys (and the one other gal) in Physics Club, and pretty much everyone disappeared as soon as the meeting was over (that is, of those who actually bothered to show up). All I want right now is a good book (or perhaps a good movie) and a cute boy to cuddle with while we sit on the couch under a blanket. I could also do without the boy (just substitute his presence for a cup of hot chocolate or maybe coffee). Yeah, that would be just as nice....
Before I go to bed, I like to leave a slight gap in the blinds to let the sun shine in so I can wake up to a bright, sunny day (granted the sun is shining). There's a tree outside my window, but it's kinda scraggly, and I don't really take it much into account most of the time. I surely noticed it today though, because it was white. My scraggly brown-and-black tree was WHITE. Yeah. You guessed it. Snow.
I know some of you love snow. My brother loves snow. The Roomie (now in France) loves snow. I think it's pretty, but I'm not interested in going out in it. So far, it looks like it's only a dusting, but even so, I take this to be a very bad sign....ie., winter is coming. And did I mention that I'm not going home for like two more weeks, and I don't have a winter coat on campus? I have severaljackets.....but not a coat. And, I don't have hats or scarves, either. I have sweaters. So....if you guys don't hear from me in a while (either posting on my blog or commenting on yours), then it probably means I've frozen to death in a crazy snow storm that sorta popped up out of nowhere.
I think I'm going to knit myself a scarf this weekend. I don't exactly have TIME or MONEY, but I'm sure I can think of something. I have blue and green yarn in the dorm, but it's too thin to be warm, and besides, I'm already using it to make a light blanket. I'm thinking some nice, thick magenta wool-blend. As for a pattern, I'm just going to go with garter stitch; basic, reliable, and simple. Either that, or I'll go all out and do something like basket weave or raspberry stitch. I don't want to make anything too complicated, though, since I'm going to have to have something to wear by Monday. Haha; that's the problem. I really need something to keep me warm, and trying to make a pretty pattern like raspberry stitch will take me FOREVER to do. So, it comes down to appearance or usefulness. I'm going to go with usefulness.
I think the title of this post about sums everything up. Today, is grey, rainy, cold, and miserable, and as much as I love the rain, I do not want to be out in it.....not on a day like today. Sadly, I had to though, seeing as we had a field trip for my Earth Science lab. The lab itself was very interesting; we looked at all kinds of cool rock formations and such. I personally think geology is kinda cool :)
But, the issue of course, was the rain. Wandering around in the rain was not fun. By the time I got back to campus, I was already soaked with a deep cold that goes right to the bones. I'm already sick, and this certainly did not help. I honestly wouldn't be surprised if I don't have much of a voice tomorrow! But, I'm trying to take care of myself....I took off my wet pants, shoes, and socks, and changed into something a bit more comfortable. It's at times like this that I wish my grandparents hadn't moved. They used to have this big old house with the nicest fireplace. I wish I could just curl up on the couch in front of the fire and read a book. When I get my own house, I'm going to have to get one with a fireplace!
Right now, I'm just waiting for Matt to call me so that we can go and get dinner. It's been nice getting to hang out with him more these past few days. I feel like we go for really long periods of time without talking; it's sad :(
Been listening to Mika, which is a fun diversion from my present, sick, miserable state, haha. If you've never listened to any of his music, you have to check him out! I LOVE Mika :)
Also, I need some help from y'all, especially the guys. I'm writing a screenplay for my screenwriting class, and I'm having trouble with the lead male's motivation. Gentlemen, what qualities would a woman have to possess to make her worth waiting twenty years for (especially when you can have any woman you want)? What would make this woman so special? That's the issue I'm having right now....I can't figure out why he would want to wait for her (because, honestly, she's a little bit bland). Please help! Thanks :)
Sorry I haven't been very dedicated to posting lately. I've just been very busy with stuff, and now, I'm in the beginning of finals week. I don't have any classes today, which is nice, but even so, I'm a bit overwhelmed with stuff. It's snowing like the Dickens outside, and I don't want to leave my nice, warm dorm room, even to go get food.
I have two finals tomorrow, and the one is seriously going to kill me. Its about the Roman Empire, and I have to memorize so many dates and random facts about emperors and architecture! Here is just my emperor list:
Augustus (27BC-14AD), Tiberius (14-37), Gaius "Caligula" (37-41), Claudius (41-54), Nero (54-68), Vespasian (69-79), Titus (79-81), Domitian (81-96), Nerva (96-98), Trajan (98-117), Hadrian (117-138), AntininusPius (138-161), LuciusVersus (161-169), MarcusAurelius (161-180), Commodus (176-192), Diocletian (284-305), and Constantine (306-324).
I hope I'll have more fun things to post as the week goes on, and especially over the break. Right now, I'm just trying to keep my head above water. I don't want to mess up this final. Wish me luck, o faithful readers! ;)
Oh, and I got the most awesome inside joke for Christmas this year! Thanks, Roomie! :D
Kiity, the Roomie, and I took the school shuttle/van up to the craft store this evening to pick up some last minute things for our door decorating contest. It didn't take us that long, and soon we were waiting for the shuttle to take us back. The shuttle is supposed to come every fifteen minutes. After waiting at least half-an-hour in the pouring rain, Kiity gets a call from her mom and says she's going to be getting a ride. She then walks off and leaves us (don't worry; she comes back). She ends up calling the Roomie to tell her that she'll give us a ride, and while they're on the phone, I'm approached by an adorable little old Jewish couple who offer me a ride. Say they live just a street away from the campus, and they could take us back. You have no idea how good that offer sounded....BUT, cute little old couple or not, I watch America's Most Wanted, and...well, you never know. I really appreciate the thought, though, and if they happen to be reading this, I want to say thank-you. Its nice to know that there are still good people in the world who are willing to help someone in need. God bless.